Nascent

Second Nature event: How Britain Became An Island

The third event in the Second Nature speaker series is tomorrow!

Picture 1.png

Join us with Professor Phil Gibbard, Dept. of Geography, Cambridge University, for a talk and discussion on recent research in the English Channel that has revealed evidence for two catastrophic “megafloods” hundreds of thousands of years ago which led to the creation of Britain as we know it today. Professor Gibbard will talk about how these floods defined Britain’s geographical future, sealed our status as an island and had profound implications for natural life in Britain and the climate of the North Atlantic.

No specialist knowledge required – all welcome!

Title: How Britain became an island

Speaker: Prof Phil Gibbard

Location: Second Nature Island

Date: Thurs 27th Sept

Time: 11am SLT, 2pm EST, 6pm GMT, 7pm BST

Contact: Joanna Wombat

For more info, see <a href = “http://www.admin.cam.ac.uk/news/dp/2007092502”> Phil’s description and Nature Network

Comments

Comments are closed.